I Feel It In My Toes

I woke up this morning to a Freeze Effect & Frost Advisory warning on my phone, courtesy of the weather channel app.  No doubt about it, it’s cold outside!

I can feel it in my toes.

No, really.  I can feel it in my toes.

Two years ago, when the “polar vortex” swept the planet, I got a slight case of frostbite.  Otherwise known as frostnip.  The freezing of body tissue.

webice01

Does anyone remember Polar Vortex?

I admit, I didn’t have proper boots.  They were cloth like, and very susceptible to cold and waterI stayed outside longer than I should’ve, on account of wanting to make the best snowman my son has ever seen.  I can’t make a snowman to save my life!

So of course it was cold.  My feet were freezing for over two weeks before I realized they were numb, and starting to pull blood at the tips.  I became concerned at that point, and jumped to the obvious prognosis.  Diabeetus.

webice03

I thought I heard somewhere that a symptom of diabetes is blood spots on your toes.  So I googled that shit; all the while, my feet were colder than my son’s ice pack.  I just figured it’s a polar vortex; erryone’s feet is freezing, suck it up sweetie.

I could take no more, and went to the hospital to get it checked out.

webice02

A sample of my skin tissue, OR just ice on a window?

They told me I had frostnip, bordering on frostbite.  The doctor prescribed an anti-biotic and salve.  My toes went back to looking normal.

But when it’s cold, like it is now, I still feeeel it in my toes.  They are freezing, even with fuzzy socks on.  They still go numb.

webice04

Really dreading winter. Waaah.

The way I see it, I just need to move to somewhere warm.  haha  🙂

5 thoughts on “I Feel It In My Toes

Leave a Reply

