Prompted / Water

I grabbed a random prompt.  Water.

Ever since I was a little girl, I loved water.

pool

I also loved dress up.

That was my pool.

Every summer, for fifteen years, I would enjoy taking a dip, a dive, a canon ball.  My parents would refer to me as a fish, as they had the hardest time getting me out of the pool.

feesh

Columbus Zoo

Having a pool was one of the best memories I have from my childhood.

We didn’t need a holiday to have a picnic.

When I was younger, my family was large in size- with grandparents, aunts & uncles, cousins, and family friends.  I was the first granddaughter born after nine boys!  I was spoiled, no doubt.  That didn’t stop all the boy cousins from playing rough with my inflatable pool toys, because we would just get new ones for the next party.  Spoiled rotten.

We would pack our backyard with 30+ people, every time.  Plenty of food and beer to go around.  I’m not sure how I was raised in a family of drinkers and didn’t acquire the taste buds for it.

After many years of enjoying the pool, wear and tear had taken it’s toll and it was no longer usable.  That was depressing.

Not more depressing than having relatives pass away.  Our large family had dwindled down to practically just the immediate, and many grew up and went on to have families of their own.  With no place like my backyard to gather, get-togethers became few and far between.

Shake it off.

polarbear01

Columbus Zoo

I am blessed to have these kind of memories from my childhood.

I needn’t be a dickhead about it.

dickhead

Columbus Zoo

It doesn’t negate the fact that I miss my backyard and everything that was in it.

We had lovely hostis plants.

I balled out one year when I got my income tax check; and, I bought myself a macro lens.  The first time I used it was when it had rained.  I loved the way the droplets were magnified.

hostice01

Hostis, outside of my bedroom window.

hostis01

I love flowers, and have many beloveds.  Marigolds are probably my least favorite.  Yet they are so hardy, and flourish well in the fall.

marigold02

marigold01

Now, if I could only drink more water. 

One thought on “Prompted / Water

Leave a Reply

